Day 30-a picture

Earlier this month, my grandpa was rushed to a hospital in the town he lives in because he had a seizure. When he wasn’t responding to their questions in a coherent manner, they rushed him to the nearest hospital with a neurosurgeon, which was 100 miles away.

He had a myriad of tests run, all determined he didn’t have a stroke, but none determined what caused his seizure. after being in the hospital for two days they ran all the tests they could and sent him home.

Now, I am sure you’re wondering what is up with the tree… The tree is a Split-Leaf or Cut-Leaf Weeping Birch. It is a tree I bought and planted for my grandpa in 2009 when I last visited. I planted it in their garden so that he cold see it from his recliner. Because my grandpa has been sick and getting steadily worse for the past few years, I wanted to give him something that he can see everyday and think of me, and how much he means to me. It wasn’t until I was halfway through the 1000 mile drive home, I realized that if he is buried, it might be under this tree, and if he’s cremated, his ashes might be spread over the garden where the tree sits. I don’t know if it means enough to him for one of those two things, but I hope that in his final days he is still able to look out and know that I love him.

It’s almost poetic. I cry whenever my mom calls to tell me something has gotten worse about him, and the tree my grandma told me to buy him ‘weeps’ too.

One Trackback to “Day 30-a picture”

Leave a Reply

