Stunningly Disappointed…

So, I found out that my favorite Nicholas Sparks book is currently being made into a movie…

The disappointing part however, is that I am not at all excited about the cast choices. The novel The Lucky One is being made into a movie, which I was super excited about until I found out that Zac Efron was cast as the leading man, Logan Thibault.

When U.S. Marine Logan Thibault finds a photograph of a smiling young woman half-buried in the dirt during his third tour of duty in Iraq, his first instinct is to toss it aside. Instead, he brings it back to the base for someone to claim, but when no one does, he finds himself always carrying the photo in his pocket. Soon Thibault experiences a sudden streak of luck—winning poker games and even surviving deadly combat that kills two of his closest buddies. Only his best friend, Victor, seems to have an explanation for his good fortune: the photograph—his lucky charm.

So, as you can see by the gist of the book, Zac Efron is not the right guy for this role. I need someone who is rugged and manly, not some Disney cast-off who couldn’t be the right age to have served three tours in Iraq.

I understand by researching his books and movies, that he wrote the screen play for The Last Song before he wrote the novel, and even that Miley Cyrus was cast as Ronnie before the lead girl was given a name, but as my hunny told me, “You’re going to have to find a new author if he keeps up with his Disney cast-offs.”

I know I might be overreacting a little, but c’mon… at least choose a person who could even slightly be believed to be the character they’re being paid (I’m sure quite handsomely) to portray.

The choice in Dear John was perfect, I could believe that Channing Tatum could have served numerous years in the Army – but Zac Efron… UGH!

2 Comments to “Stunningly Disappointed…”

  1. I have to agree with even though i haven’t read the book he sounds like a lame choice for the lead role!’

Leave a Reply

