Review 5/5 – Nikki Sixx – The Heroin Diaries: A Year in the Life of a Shattered Rock Star

In one of the most unique memoirs of addiction ever published, Motley Crue’s Nikki Sixx shares mesmerizing diary entries from the year he spiraled out of control in a haze of heroin and cocaine, presented alongside riveting commentary from people who were there at the time, and from Nikki himself.

I started reading this book last night, and I have to say, I am excited to be reading something other than Twilight, for one, and for two, I have never encountered anything other than a Meth Addict twice in my life. Even around these addicts, I was never aware they were high or coming down, or whatever state they were in, because I am so naive. Needless to say, I have always been oddly curious about how ‘the other half’ lives.

I am an avid journalist, in that I write in journals all the time. In the past year, I have filled four journals cover to cover, and I’m about 3/4 the way done with the fifth. I have been guilty of reading someone else journal before, not my proudest moment, but when your roommate is hiding information, especially about them moving and leaving you homeless, getting answers is all you’re concerned with. Anyway, Nikki Sixx included a lot of entries from his journals from the year 1987. I was born in December 1986, so I not only don’t have a reference as to what the time was like, but find it intriguing to read about his addiction from his perspective than, now, and accounts from his closest friends and colleagues.

I will be able to write more once I’ve finished the book, but my hunny is the one who wanted to read it, so I got it for my Kindle App on my phone, and I decided to read it too.

So far, I recommend it. Who wouldn’t want to read a book written by a man who died twice?

[[**EDIT**]] – I finished it. It blew my freaking mind. I hope to never have to witness the things he went through in myself or anyone who is near and dear to me, but reading the book of his life in 1987 just leaves me in awe. I understand the people in Motley Crue and it’s extensions saying they couldn’t stop Nikki from himself, and I believe it, but OMG… Just how a person could live like that. I’ll be trying to figure that out for a long time to come.

I took one quote from the book though…

We mistake lust for love and pop more pills, slam more drugs, drink ourselves silly or end us, as I did, scraping the inside of a pipe just to hit the resin and flush life down the toilet.

 

One Trackback to “Review 5/5 – Nikki Sixx – The Heroin Diaries: A Year in the Life of a Shattered Rock Star”

Leave a Reply

